Texas Felony DWI Laws
Facing Felony DWI charges in Georgetown?
If you are arrested for a first DWI in Texas, you are generally facing Class B misdemeanor charges. A second DWI conviction will most likely be increased to a Class A misdemeanor offense. If you happen to get arrested for a third DWI offense after that, the charges may be elevated to a felony. The elements involved in a DWI case that can lead to felony charges include:
- A third DWI offense
- DWI with a passenger under the age of 15
- DWI resulting in an accident that causes serious bodily injury to another individual
- DWI resulting in an accident that causes the death of another individual
These crimes can result in different degrees of felonies, but all have harsh penalties and taint your criminal record. To avoid a felony DWI going on your record, you need to team up with a DWI attorney in Georgetown who has experience with serious felony DWI cases.
What are the penalties for a felony DWI?
If facing charges for a DWI with a passenger under the age of 15 you may be at risk of between 180 days and two years in state jail and a fine of up to $10,000. Intoxication Assault charges, or DWI resulting in an accident that causes serious bodily injury to another individual, can be charged as a third degree felony. A third DWI conviction can also be charged as a third degree felony and it is punishable by:
- Between two and 10 years in jail
- A fine of up to $10,000
- Between 160 and 600 hours of community service
- License suspension for between 180 days and two years
- Ignition interlock device installation
If you are facing felony DWI charges, contact me at The Law Office of Clovis Martin. I have years of experience assisting those criminally accused of felony DWI offenses and I am prepared to help. Start now by filling out a
case evaluation form online.