DWI Penalties

DWI Penalties in Texas

Consequences of a DWI Conviction in Georgetown

It is important to be aware of the potential penalties of a DWI if you are facing conviction. In order to be charged with a DWI in the state of Texas, your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) must have been above the legal limit. For drivers under the age of 21, the BAC limit is .02, which is essentially any detectable amount. For drivers above age 21, the BAC limit is .08. If you are arrested for DWI and your BAC test shows that you are above the legal limit, you may be facing DWI conviction and serious penalties. Fight against your charges by teaming up with a criminal defense attorney in Georgetown, TX. The Law Office of Clovis Martin can help you defend against your charges and fight to avoid the potential penalties.

Penalties for Chemical Test Refusal in TX

Texas has an implied consent law for all drivers on the road. This law requires drivers to submit to a chemical test if arrested for DWI. A chemical test could either be a blood test, breath test or urine test, but at least one has to be completed. If a driver refuses to perform a chemical test, they could be facing a license suspension and a fine. Law enforcement will take your license right on the spot and you will be given a temporary license until you have your hearing. For the first refusal, a driver is facing a 180 day license suspension. If they refuse on another occasion, both 2nd and 3rd offenses increase to a two year license suspension.

DWI Conviction Penalties in Texas

If you are convicted for a DWI in Texas, there are several penalties at risk. To breakdown the penalties, I will separate them by offense:

1st DWI Offense in TX:

  • Jail time between three and 180 days
  • Fines of up to $2,000
  • Between 90 and 365 day license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation

2nd DWI Offense in TX:

  • Jail time between 30 days and one year
  • Fines of up to $4,000
  • Between 180 day to two year license suspension
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation

3rd DWI Offense in TX:

  • Charges as a Third Degree Felony
  • Between two and 10 years in jail
  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • Between 180 day to two year license suspension
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation

On top of these standard criminal penalties, the judge could order other consequences as well. Other penalties could be community service, DWI education programs or increased car insurance. It is even more vital to team up with a Georgetown DWI lawyer due to the lack of plea bargain option in Texas. Some states allow for negotiations to take place that could result in a guilty plea for "wet reckless" rather than DWI. This is a conviction for reckless driving involving alcohol but the penalties are less serious. Texas has barred this option of plea bargain, you need to aggressively fight against your charges to avoid the penalties.

Looking for an attorney for your DWI case in Georgetown, TX?

If you are facing DWI charges in Texas, you need to team up with my firm, The Law Office of Clovis Martin. I am fully devoted to representing individuals facing criminal charges, including DWI. I also offer a free initial consultation so you can call to discuss your case and ask any questions you may have. This is a no-obligation and confidential consultation at no cost. Call me, a criminal attorney in Georgetown, TX today for the aggressive and experienced representation that you need!

Contact Our Office

Fill out the information below to request your free consultation with our team.

pay now